Home > Uncategorized > 4 Things I Learned from my First Murph

4 Things I Learned from my First Murph

.

78c9be955ce9f4e901d2ed3477744bdaI know a lot of you put your heart & soul into Murph on Memorial day (thanks again to Brittney, Robyn, Scott & Darryl for opening the gym for the special WOD). While it’s one of the toughest WOD’s there is in my book – you’ve gotta agree that it’s one heck of a benchmark from where you may have started and truly what’s inside you in terms of fortitude! Whether you did full Murph or Baby Murph, am sure you’ve learn the important lessons from being there as John Kinnear at Fault Line CrossFit did this past Memorial day. How far have you come?

Take a minute, too, to check out the links at the end of his article!

1. I learned what Murph is.

“Murph” For time: 1 mile Run, 100 Pull-ups, 200 Push-ups, 300 Squats, 1 mile Run. Partition the pull-ups, push-ups, and squats as needed. With a 20 lb weighted vest! 

Murph is not an acronym for My Unending Relentless Push-up Hell. Murph is also not named after the sound you make about half way through the workout when you step outside to empty the contents of your stomach. It has a much more noble origin. From Crossfit.com:

“In memory of Navy Lieutenant Michael Murphy, 29, of Patchogue, N.Y., who was killed in Afghanistan June 28th, 2005.

This workout was one of Mike’s favorites and he’d named it “Body Armor”. From here on it will be referred to as “Murph” in honor of the focused warrior and great American who wanted nothing more in life than to serve this great country and the beautiful people who make it what it is.”

Hence, why we do “Murph” on Memorial Day; we make a small sacrifice to honor Lt. Murphy’s ultimate sacrifice.

2. I learned how far I’ve come.

My first workout at Fault Line consisted of 5 push-ups, 10 box jumps (that I didn’t do), 15 Overhead Lunges, 20 sit ups, and 25 air squats. After “completing” this work out in 12 minutes I proceeded to roll around on the floor and make noises not unlike a dying velociraptor. The worst part? That 20 sit ups was probably more like 17, 25 air squats… 20, you get the picture. I cheated… myself.

Yesterday, after 3 months of hard work, I finished the work out in 54 minutes and change, and I didn’t skip a single rep. Every time I looked at my reflection in the growing puddle of sweat beneath my pushups, I just kept thinking “Who is this guy, and why the hell is he smiling?”

3. I learned I have long way to go.

I didn’t wear the weighted vest. I used a band for my pull-ups, because I still can’t do a single pull-up. I dropped to my knees on pushups 180-200. Sure, it hurt plenty – but it could have hurt better. After running the final mile, and rolling around velociraptor style on the mat again, I got up, walked over to the board and wrote down the first goal I’ve ever written on the board:

Murf RX, Memorial Day 2014 – John Kinnear

4. I learned that we do this together.

Yes, I know that we all do the work out at the same time. I also know that the trainers are there to give encouragement. But Monday was different. When I collapsed at somewhere around 100 push ups, Chris was there to walk me through my breaths. When I couldn’t get my foot in the band for pull-ups because it hurt too much to lift my leg, Ellie was there to pull it down. And when I stumbled across the mat at the end, everyone cheered. But that wasn’t the end.

Nearly everyone from the morning session stayed for the next session and repaid the courtesy. By the time second session folks were to their second mile, first session folks were heading out to encourage them for the entirety of the run. High fives, sweaty hugs, fist bumps, blood, sweat tears, it was a hell of a way to spend a Monday morning. BUT THAT WASN’T THE END EITHER!

I hopped online when I got home to find some info about Murph for this blog post, and lo and behold – every other CrossFit gym was doing Murph too! I kind of already knew that was happening, but I had previously only thought of it as everyone doing the same work out at the same time. What I didn’t realize was that all these people around the country weren’t just doing a bunch of push-ups, they were all having this same type of collective experience.

– Check out this video from a CrossFit Gym in Tennessee
– And this guy with an awesome beard’s blog.
– And even these service members in Afghanistan!

Wow. Just wow. Anyway, I’m happy and honored and immensely proud to be able to contribute my own puddle of sweat to the collective, panting, grunting slog that is Murph. Good work people. See you tomorrow.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

